Refugee Resettlement Watch

Less than 24 hours left to send your comments to the US State Department!

Posted by Ann Corcoran on May 18, 2016

First, many apologies to all of you who thought I meant I would send your comments to the State Department.  I don’t think they would like that very much!   I offered merely to publish them here at RRW after (or even before) you send them in so that they would not completely disappear down a black hole and so that others would know that they are not alone.

So, here below, as suggested by another reader, is a very clear line about where to send them by 5 p.m. tomorrow May 19th!

Persons wishing to submit written comments on the appropriate size and scope of the FY 2017 U.S. Refugee Admissions Program should submit them by 5 p.m. on Thursday, May 19, 2016 via email to PRM-Comments@state.gov or fax (202) 453-9393.

For all of you who don’t know what we are talking about, go back to this post for a complete discussion. HOWEVER, I JUST NOW NOTICED THAT THE FEDERAL REGISTER NOTICE HAS THE WRONG DATES IN IT! I’ve written to the State Department for clarification! [update May 19th: we did hear from the State Department and they admitted they had made an error! You have until 5 p.m. today to get your testimony submitted.]

And, thanks to all who sent comments to me.  I am still in the process of reading them all and getting them posted. Needless to say, I had no idea that so many of you would take the time to write.

All of the testimony we have posted so far and other information on this important opportunity is archived here.

 

23 Responses to “Less than 24 hours left to send your comments to the US State Department!”

  1. […] The day before the deadline for submission of testimony I noticed (maybe you were all ahead of me and noticed!) that the dates were wrong in the Federal Register.  I happened to see a comment sent by lawyers to the DOS asking that the comment period be re-opened because citizens, who might like to have testified, didn’t think the notice was for a comment period this year, but for last year.   See here. […]

    Like

  2. […] The day before the deadline for submission of testimony I noticed (maybe you were all ahead of me and noticed!) that the dates were wrong in the Federal Register.  I happened to see a comment sent by lawyers to the DOS asking that the comment period be re-opened because citizens, who might like to have testified, didn’t think the notice was for a comment period this year, but for last year.   See here. […]

    Like

  3. […] The day before the deadline for submission of testimony I noticed (maybe you were all ahead of me and noticed!) that the dates were wrong in the Federal Register.  I happened to see a comment sent by lawyers to the DOS asking that the comment period be re-opened because citizens, who might like to have testified, didn’t think the notice was for a comment period this year, but for last year.   See here. […]

    Like

  4. […] The day before the deadline for submission of testimony I noticed (maybe you were all ahead of me and noticed!) that the dates were wrong in the Federal Register.  I happened to see a comment sent by lawyers to the DOS asking that the comment period be re-opened because citizens, who might like to have testified, didn’t think the notice was for a comment period this year, but for last year.   See here. […]

    Like

  5. […] The day before the deadline for submission of testimony I noticed (maybe you were all ahead of me and noticed!) that the dates were wrong in the Federal Register.  I happened to see a comment sent by lawyers to the DOS asking that the comment period be re-opened because citizens, who might like to have testified, didn’t think the notice was for a comment period this year, but for last year.   See here. […]

    Like

  6. […] The day before the deadline for submission of testimony I noticed (maybe you were all ahead of me and noticed!) that the dates were wrong in the Federal Register.  I happened to see a comment sent by lawyers to the DOS asking that the comment period be re-opened because citizens, who might like to have testified, didn’t think the notice was for a comment period this year, but for last year.   See here. […]

    Like

  7. tvfmontana said

    OK Now that the comment period is closed I sent this to, yes Delicia:

    Morning Ms Delicia Spruell,

    I understand that the deadline for comment regarding FY 2017 U.S. Refugee Admissions Program was May 19, 2016 5PM.*

    Please give me the link where I can see all those posted comments.

    Thank you in advance for your time and help.

    E (redacted)
    Missoula Montana

    * Federal Register | Notice of Public Comments on FY 2017 U.S. Refugee Admissions Program
    https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2016/04/21/2016-09267/notice-of-public-comments-on-fy-2017-us-refugee-admissions-program

    Like

  8. […] The day before the deadline for submission of testimony I noticed (maybe you were all ahead of me and noticed!) that the dates were wrong in the Federal Register.  I happened to see a comment sent by lawyers to the DOS asking that the comment period be re-opened because citizens, who might like to have testified, didn’t think the notice was for a comment period this year, but for last year.   See here. […]

    Like

  9. […] The day before the deadline for submission of testimony I noticed (maybe you were all ahead of me and noticed!) that the dates were wrong in the Federal Register.  I happened to see a comment sent by lawyers to the DOS asking that the comment period be re-opened because citizens, who might like to have testified, didn’t thinking the notice was for a comment period last year.   See here. […]

    Like

  10. […] FAIR/IRLI in response to a request for public comment on the FY2017 Refugee Admissions Program. Comments closed at 5:00 p.m. on May 19th. (Hat tip: […]

    Like

  11. […] from FAIR/IRLI in response to a request for public comment on the FY2017 Refugee Admissions Program. Comments closed at 5 p.m. on May 19th. (Hat tip: […]

    Like

  12. […] deadline to send in testimony was yesterday at 5 p.m. but we will continue to post your testimonies (a few a day) until I’ve exhausted my […]

    Like

  13. […] Walker sent testimony to the U.S. State Department by the deadline yesterday and then posted it here at her excellent blog, Limits to […]

    Like

  14. […] Walker sent testimony to the US State Department by the deadline yesterday and then posted it here at her excellent blog, Limits to […]

    Like

  15. […] or less so.  Just send something!  And, then be sure to copy it to your elected officials.  You have a few more hours to send in your […]

    Like

  16. […] am sending a list of the ten reasons for a Moratorium to the U.S.State Department today.  If you have followed RRW for years you will recognize this as a modification of the first […]

    Like

  17. […] Less than 24 hours left to send your comments to the US State Department! May 18, 2016 […]

    Like

  18. […] Less than 24 hours left to send your comments to the US State Department! May 18, 2016 […]

    Like

  19. […] Less than 24 hours left to send your comments to the US State Department! May 18, 2016 […]

    Like

  20. […] Less than 24 hours left to send your comments to the US State Department! May 18, 2016 […]

    Like

  21. tvfmontana said

    Any update? I know of someone who posted yesterday and it’s still not archived.

    Like

    • Ann Corcoran said

      Do you mean someone who sent their comments to me? Whew! I am so behind! Working on it!

      Like

  22. Reblogged this on Kerberos616.

    Like

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
