Refugee Resettlement Watch

Judicial Watch Corruption Chronicles: Millions in business loans to refugees not tracked by HHS

Posted by Ann Corcoran on June 10, 2016

Judicial Watch logoI’m dashing out the door and cannot do this incredible work by Judicial Watch justice, but wanted to get it up now hot off the presses!

For years I’ve wondered how you get at this information on special loans for special people and now I know—someone does a Freedom of Information Act request (a specialty of JW as Hillary knows so well!).

Here is how the story begins:

The U.S. government gives refugees on public assistance special “loans” of up to $15,000 to start a business but fails to keep track of defaults that could translate into huge losses for American taxpayers, records obtained by Judicial Watch reveal. The cash is distributed through a program called Microenterprise Development run by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Office of Refugee Resettlement.

Since 2010 the program has granted thousands of loans to refugees that lack the financial resources, credit history or personal assets to qualify for business loans from commercial banks. Most if not all the recipients already get assistance or subsidies from the government, according to the qualification guidelines set by the Microenterprise Development Program. It’s a risky operation that blindly gives public funds to poor foreign nationals with no roots in the U.S. and there’s no follow up to assure the cash is paid back. The idea behind it is to “equip refugees with the skills they need to become successful entrepreneurs” by helping them expand or maintain their own business and become financially independent.

You gotta read this, continue here.

If you are looking for an organization to donate to—Judicial Watch is it!

Afterthought:  Repeatedly you see news stories that refugees are opening new businesses at record rates and thus boosting the local economy.  (Opening businesses with your financial help.)  This information makes me wonder how many of those new businesses survive for even a year or two?

 

12 Responses to “Judicial Watch Corruption Chronicles: Millions in business loans to refugees not tracked by HHS”

  1. Jim NTN said

    Heard a good one: Dear Sir, I have a Benefit Question. Many years ago, I married a widow out of love who had an 18-year-old daughter. After the wedding, my father, a widower, came to visit a number of times, and he fell in love with my step-daughter. My father eventually married her without my authorization. As a result, my step-daughter legally became my step-mother and my father my son-in-law. My father’s wife (also my step-daughter) and my step-mother, gave birth to a son who is my grandchild because I am the husband of my step-daughter’s mother. This boy is also my brother, as the son of my father. As you can see, my wife became a grandmother, because she is the mother of my father’s wife. Therefore, it appears that I am also my wife’s grandchild. A short time after these events, my wife gave birth to a son, who became my father’s brother-in-law, the step-son of my father’s wife, and my uncle. My son is also my step-mother’s brother, and through my step-mother, my wife has become a grandmother and I have become my own grandfather. In light of the above mentioned, I would like to know the following: Does my son, who is also my uncle, my father’s son-in-law, and my step-mother’s brother fulfill the requirements for receiving childcare benefits? Sincerely yours,

    Mohammed V V V THE ANSWER: Of course you all qualify Mo. I have arranged to start mailing checks to all of you just as soon as we resettle all of you here in the United States. Welcome to your new home my son,

    Barack Obama Jim NTN – 4WTSHTF – Like NOW. Defense is everyone’s duty.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] https://refugeeresettlementwatch.wordpress.com/2016/06/10/judicial-watch-corruption-chronicles-milli… […]

    Like

  3. Dr. Rich Swier said

    Great. Published: http://bit.ly/28sJUSB

    Rich

    On Fri, Jun 10, 2016 at 4:51 PM, Refugee Resettlement Watch wrote:

    > Ann Corcoran posted: “I’m dashing out the door and cannot do this > incredible work by Judicial Watch justice, but wanted to get it up now hot > off the presses! For years I’ve wondered how you get at this information on > special loans for special people and now I know—someone” >

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on stepman2001 and commented:
    Another reason to use our petition to Defund the Refugee Resettlement Program, http://restoretheusa.net/petitions/a-petition-to-Defund-the-Refugee-Resettlement-Program. #OccupyCongress

    Like

  5. Senatssekretär Freistaat Danzig said

    Reblogged this on behindertvertriebentessarzblog.

    Like

  6. John Brown said

    This is something Troy Gowdy would be interested in

    Like

  7. Reblogged this on Kerberos616.

    Like

  8. You can’t mKe this stuff up…yet my wife wanting to start a business, unworthy of a bank loan, is all about us loaning ourselves out of savings…my wife is Native American, no soup for you!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Reblogged this on Rifleman III Journal.

    Like

  10. kathleenmary514 said

    Margaret, I think we need to emblazen the word AUDIT somewhere in our city. Demand an Audit for all these frauds they are getting away with. How does this happen? Is it all a recent thing since BO took office? Do you think this would be good to talk about for local taxpayers concerns or should we get our MN congress to do something to investigate this ongoing scam of the Government? I think if the people keep calling their local and State Reps and Senators about these rotten use of our taxes, the Senators and Reps will get the message we are watching them and ready to haunt them on all these crooked deals where robber Barons are making oodles of $ at our expense. Just putting this Judicial Watch expose’ out there on Twitter and Facebook should wake people up. But how do we direct the people? Local or State or Whole Country exposure? Or all? This is really something, esp bec. the newest refugees are getting all these dollars at taxpayers hard earned expense. THE BO is atrocious in and out of his soul. Kathleen >

    Liked by 1 person

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
