Refugee Resettlement Watch

Comment worth noting: Sign up for Heritage Sentinel program

Posted by Ann Corcoran on December 29, 2016

Editor:  From time to time we post comments from readers that you might have missed where they were posted at a particular post.  As regular readers know, I have been nagging you all to become more involved with what your Washington reps are doing because frankly, if the US Refugee Admissions Program is going to be trashed or reformed, it will be Congress that must do it (or it will be Congress’ Appropriations process that could slow it).

Trump can stop it in the short term, but it will take Congress to make the necessary longterm changes while Trump is in office. (We will be watching what he does in the first 30 days on this issue!)

congress

I know you have little faith in Congress, but you must keep the pressure on!

In my previous post, I reported on Rep. Brian Babin’s interview with Fox News.

Rep. Babin will need help in Congress.

Our reader, FloridaBuff, suggests becoming a Heritage Sentinel.  The Heritage Foundation is playing a huge role in the Trump transition. Although because it is a jobs issue it should be a top concern, immigration/refugees is not a major priority for them. So, I did just sign up.

 

From FloridaBuff:

Ann – I agree with your recommendation to speak to Congress members. Another thing to do is encourage members to join the Heritage Action organization which now has 17,000 plus national conservative members focused on grassroots communications with Congress. You learn a lot about the process, and I personally have posted refugee issues on their internal member forum. It is free, and a great way to learn how Congress works. Every Monday they have a nationwide teleconference for a half hour at 5:30pm to discuss current issues. The only negative is that the issues selected are by Heritage Action (a spinoff of Heritage Foundation) thus Refugee Resettlement has never been on the priority list (yet). But learning how Congress works is valuable and you can apply that to your own discussions with your local Congress members. I recommend readers go and sign up for the Heritage Action Sentinel program at: http://heritageaction.com/

For more comments worth noting, click here. And for all of our recent posts on Congress see the tag ‘Where is Congress.’

6 Responses to “Comment worth noting: Sign up for Heritage Sentinel program”

  1. Hi Ann! Here is my reply from Virginia Senator Mark Warner (D). His FB Page has his talk on why the Democrats lost big time. He “gets it” – and admits it to his constituents! Good going Senator Warner! Too bad Jihad Senator Tim Kaine is so pathetic! Feel free to use my letter – I need to cover my name & address. I can retake the photograph with it covered. And resend it to you. I just got this yesterday. Congressman Rob Wittman (R) also agrees with our position! Blessing for a productive New Year! We are all in this together! I appreciate ALL you do! I ordered 6 more copies of your book and will be sending them to the Williamsburg City Council as well as James City County on those idiot W&M colleague students pushing Syrian refugees on our sweet and docile community. Pat

    On Thu, Dec 29, 2016 at 7:58 AM Refugee Resettlement Watch wrote:

    > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > Ann Corcoran posted: “Editor: From time to time we post comments from > readers that you might have missed where they were posted at a particular > post. As regular readers know, I have been nagging you all to become more > involved with what your Washington reps are doing because” > > > > > > > > > >

    Like

  2. conprof said

    I too am a Sentinel and I highly recommend belonging if for no other reason than to efficiently monitor Congress. It is not the case that the Refugee program has not been a priority yet – it was for about a month after the Greenville Summit (August-Sept. 2015) and then it fell off the top list in favor of matters HA deemed more urgent. It could be that HA thought there were issues we could effect better than that one. Of course, I was pushing hard for the RR issue to be a top priority and it still could be. HA plans to have 40,000 total Sentinels, or 100 per congressional district. If readers of this blog sign up to be Sentinels, our very numbers could persuade HA to make the elimination of this nasty program a top level concern. BTW, you can spend as much or as little time as you like being a Sentinel. Even doing the minimum, listening to the weekly phone call (usually less than 40 minutes long with opportunities to talk to leadership one on one after the call) and instructions to contact congressmen about issues we want to contact them about and talking points to help us craft our letters, Tweets, emails and phone calls, allow us to be effective in a very efficient and time sensitive way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on islamnewworldorder and commented:
    It’s tough having to constantly be “holding the line,” so to speak, but that is the only way we are going to stop (at least “slow”) the influx (invasion) by islam.
    We need to keep the pressure on our own people in Congress (and the “whole” Congress) but this Heritage Sentinel suggestion might help too.
    Whatever helps we must do, because half our country still has their head you-know-where.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have signed up for the Sentinel program. I did so that I could establish contact near me with patriots, (or not), individuals with whom I could have regular gatherings. I have not been given any information to that end. During the pre-election period I was surprised to learn that there were more pro-HRC types than I would have imagined. My attempts to mix with them to see why they voted as they did, and I offered to exchange thoughts about my anti-HRC motivations. The attempt failed miserably. Also, in this racially troubled time where conservatives are regularly hounded by BLM types, (often resulting in extreme violence) I was dismayed to see that the Sentinel logo pictured a young blonde white boy holding a musket. I have nothing against young white boys, (I was once one) but I would have preferred to see a logo that considered a more neutral symbol. I nod in the direction of not wanting to unnecessarily offend violence-prone racists so that they have to read about what Sentinel is all about before making fools act like fools! That may be wishful thinking! In any event I would like for Sentinel to devise a system that could bring together, by email, Texans in the DFW area that would like to meet regularly. Groups of 12-24 would be ideal.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with you. I am a Sentinel and have suggested more action regarding refugee resettlement according to your standards, Ann. The program needs more members who understand refugee resettlement to place your recommendations on Heritage Action’s agenda.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Brittius said

    Reblogged this on Brittius.

    Like

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
